Glitter shoes DIY

First I bought these last year on super duper sale:

naya bakula

But I never wore them because that leather flower on the side isn’t really my style. So I took it off:

shoe-before

And then realized there’s a bunch of holes left in the leather because of the thread that held the flower. So I decided that the only thing to do was to fill those holes with glitter.

First I taped up all the parts that I didn’t want glittery, including the heel tap:

shoe-taped

Then I scuffed up the to-be-glittered part with sandpaper.

shoes-scuffed

Then I mixed about half ModPodge and half glitter from Michaels in the cut off end of a water bottle and painted it on.

shoe-painted

Here they are half dried:

shoes-drying

I ended up painting on three coats to get the glitter as opaque as I wanted, but the difference between one coat and three is actually minimal.

I let them dry some more and applied some Angelus Acrylic Finisher and voila!

shoes-back

shoes-side

They’re pretty cool! I bought the glitter while at home in Memphis so I didn’t compare the colors, and in the future I might get a color more similar to the base color. But I kind of like the spectator look these have now, and I’m happy with how they turned out! Not all of the thread holes are hidden, but I think the glitter distracts.

This entry was posted in crafts, diy, home, love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glitter shoes DIY

  1. agouldi1 says:

    these are too cute! I am definitely adding a pair of glitter flats to my to do list!

  2. So pretty! Now click your heels together three times…

  3. Mariko says:

    Now THAT, my dear, is super crafty!!

  4. Pingback: XOXO | Eighty 8 Percent

Leave a comment